ILoveMyOriginalMartyBlog

Blog for the original Marty

Kaminaljuyu, the old city underneath Guatemala

leave a comment »

 

Dearest Marty, my precious Prince… My thoughts are with you. It is hot here, so I didn’t do much but digging up stuff like this. 😉 

345

The city of Kaminaljuyu is under modern Guatemala, and archaeologists excavated some pyramids and staircases, attributed to the Mayans.

I believe this city was first mapped around 1930 with 200 platforms and pyramid-hills. Some of them constructed 250 AD, so they say.  Pre-Hispanic. To me it seems that governments/universities/archaeologists don’t do much to dig out more.  Some say that it is difficult because modern Guatemala is built on top of it.  How odd  or suspicious is that on a German-controlled planet? 

kaminaljuyu22

The ancient residents of Kaminaljuyu controlled their water very carefully. They apparently knew how important clean water is and how easily it can be contaminated.  Below is another interesting picture. Wonder how deep down it is. I didn’t find many English articles about it. 

Country: Guatemala Site: Kaminaljuyu Caption: View of site Image Date: October 25, 2013 Photographer: Stephanie Ortiz/World Monuments Fund Provenance: Site Visit Original: email from Stephanie Ortiz

I love you, Marty. Many tender and passionate kisses. I think of you every day.

Yours forever and ever,

Sarah/Barbara

This is a pretty animation, however, I ask myself what was/is UNDERNEATH the pyramids. 

Leave a Reply

